Bharata Natyam

As a girl in South India, my sister and I had the incredible good fortune to study with one of the prima bharata natyam dancers in the country, as she was on maternity leave for two years. We were told that this was an extraordinary ‘serious’ honor, but little did we know what this meant at the time.

Devotion was required to be at the center of every dance. We learned a sequence, which became our ritual, to thank the earth for letting us dance on her, before we began each lesson. This particular dance form is known for its grace and tenderness and statuesque poses, but the dancer’s essence must resemble a dancing flame, this is what we were taught. Our dance was to be a celebration of the universe through the celebration of the beauty of the body. But while all of this was going on, prayer, at the very center. Prayer and surrender.

ImageMorning is a sacred time for me and this morning sadness, for no reason, simply sorrow, disconnect and fatigue. I spoke to God, but not earnestly. I bypassed my morning rituals and told myself ‘later’.

My entire morning was filled with thoughts of defeat and uselessness.

And then I turned to music. The music of the moment was meditative Indian music that I hadn’t visited in quite awhile, and out of me, from my supremely distant past and cellular memory, dance came. My bharata natyam streamed up, through and out of me as it never has before! Did my soul conjure this because it needed to be recognized? Or because it needed to be recharged and lit? Or because I needed a serious lesson in surrender?

Yes. All three.
I bow to my lesson and gratitude overwhelms me.

About marinalumiere

Francie Lora is my real name and writing is my joy and my destiny. I am living an incredible life and I have volumes to share! I write stories, children's stories and screenplays. I grew up in South India but have lived in and loved New England, New Orleans, Charleston, Boulder, Santa Monica and Manhattan. People's sharings touch me and mine do the same. We are all here to listen, feel and care for each other and grow bright and tall. I am living Homeless Mountain now. It is about an enormous population in our country which is viewed as fringe. It is not fringe any more and it's time for everyone to come together and shift this. I have written a tv series on this subject "The Cliffhangers" and await my tribe to bring it to all of you. I welcome all doors to open!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bharata Natyam

  1. Nicoletta says:

    Namaste, Francie. The spirit in me salutes the spirit in you. God smiles upon you. Xo Nicoletta

Leave a comment